Good Professional Practice

The Medical Council has defined eight domains of good professional practice. These domains describe a framework of competencies applicable to all doctors across the continuum of professional development from formal medical education and training through to maintenance of professional competence. They describe the outcomes which doctors should strive to achieve and doctors should refer to these domains throughout the process of maintaining competence.

  • Patient Safety and Quality of Patient Care
  • Relating to Patients
  • Communication and Interpersonal Skills
  • Collaboration and Teamwork
  • Management (including Self Management)
  • Scholarship
  • Professionalism
  • Clinical Skills

Additional Information