Categories for Election and Nomination to the Medical Council

In accordance with Section 17(1)(a-n) of the Medical Practitioners Act 2007 the Council consists of 25 members appointed by the Minister for Health.

Six of the 25 members will be appointed following the election process under the following categories:

  • Obstetrics and gynaecology
  • Anaesthesia
  • Public health medicine
  • Pathology or Radiology
  • Practising medicine in a hospital but not a consultant
  • A doctor who does not fall into the categories above

In addition to the 6 elected members, the Medical Council comprises of a further 19 nominated members under the following categories:

  • one nominee of the Royal Irish Academy
  • two nominees of the HSE
  • one nominee of the Minister for Education and Science
  • one nominee of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland 
  • one nominee of CORU
  • one nominee of HIQA
  • two nominees of medical schools
  • one nominee of the Independent Hospitals Association of Ireland
  • five nominees of the Minister for Health
  • one nominee of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland
  • one nominee of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • one nominee of the Irish College of General Practitioners
  • one nominee of the College of Psychiatry

Further Information